awards15 bannerFEB6

CLICK HERE to submit a nomination

The Intelligent Health Association Awards were established in 2012 to champion those healthcare providers and institutions that use technologies in health care systems for the betterment of patient safety, supply chain and asset management.   Nominations for the IH awards may recognize any healthcare provider organization, such as hospitals, integrated delivery networks (IDNs), clinics and nursing homes, specifically the end users who are implementing these technologies.

Awards are presented to an individual, an organization, or a team.

Eligible healthcare systems will employ any of the following technologies: Auto-ID, BAP (all frequencies of battery-assisted passive systems) Biometrics, BLE, BYOD (bring your own device), Nano, NFC, Mobile devices (e.g. iPhones/Droids/iPads) Mobile Apps, RFID (all frequencies), RTLS (all technologies), Sensors, Telecommunications, Wireless (all technologies)

Nominators: Except for IHA/RHCC Board of Directors and staff and judges, any person may nominate a candidate for an Intelligent Health award.

Nominations must be completed by Midnight ET FEBRUARY 6, 2015.

Award Categories and Scope

There are nine categories. The 10th Award is selected from the recipients of the nine. Submitting an application in more than one category is discouraged. If more than one is submitted with identical content, only one will be accepted.

  1. Improving the Patient Experience: Care and Safety. Outstanding contributions and/or innovations that improve the patient experience and/or safety.
  2. Improving Regulatory Compliance. Contributions and/or innovations within the field of healthcare that makes regulatory compliance easier to administer.
  3. Most Comprehensive Use for Protection of Property. The healthcare organization that uses one or more of the designated technologies for protecting property, especially data security, intellectual property, the data infrastructure, mobile devices attached to the network, data in motion and at rest. Systems that continually reassess risks to confidential and critical information.
  4. Most Innovative Use Case. This award recognizes the best example of innovative use of technology in a healthcare facility.
  5. Most Innovative Use of Business Intelligence. This award recognizes the healthcare organization that uses one or more of the designated technologies to analyze volumes of data to determine efficiencies that lead to improvement in patient care, optimize operations/workflow contain or lower costs. (Big Data)
  6. Most Innovative Use for Physical Security. Using one or more of the designated technologies for the purposes of ensuring physical safety of people (for example, patients and service providers) in a hospital environment.
  7. Best Comprehensive Integration. Effectively integrating technologies seamlessly to provide a comprehensive solution in a healthcare facility.
  8. Best Demonstration of Patient@Home Care. Using one or more of the designated technologies to support extended patient care in the home.
  9. Best Use Case by a Critical Access Hospital. The small and/or independent facility serving a rural or dispersed population healthcare organization that uses one or more of the designated technologies. Generally these facilities are dependent on Medicare funding, which defines “critical access”. This award is not intended to be restricted only to these facilities.
  10. Grand Award. Of the nine awards given, one recipient will be chosen to receive the 2015 Intelligent Health Grand Award.

To ensure that these awards demonstrate competition for high achievement, no fewer than three nominations must be received for each category. Otherwise no award will be given for that category.

In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered:


  • impact on healthcare;impact on healthcare;
  • improvement in the patient;
  • experience; succession of significant technical or other contributions;
  • leadership in accomplishing worthwhile goal(s) such as an organization’s performance;
  • previous honors;
  • other achievements as evidenced by publications (including a video or website link),
  • patents or other evidence;
  • quality of nomination;
  • the solution addresses industry challenges;
  • the results of the solution are documented.


2014 Grand Award Winner

2014 Grand Award Winner

Secrets to submitting a winning nomination for IHA Award  Read this document to see a sample of a winning submission. 

 2014 Winners

Improving Regulatory Compliance Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center (Conrad Emmerich, Associate Vice President, Resource Management and Enterprise Visibility; Beverly Essick, D.O.M., Director, Clinical Compliance and Regulatory Services; Mark Rheault, Director, Office of Enterprise Visibility; Mary Jagim, Associate Director, Office of Enterprise Visibility)
Improving The Patient Experience: Care And Safety Children’s Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota (Bobbie Carroll, Senior Director, Patient Safety and Clinical Informatics; Sarah Giga, M.S., Manager, Clinical Systems Integration)
Most Innovative Use of Business Intelligence Christiana Care Health System (Leslie Mulshenock, Director, Heart and Vascular Interventional Services; Matthew P. Esham, Manager, Heart and Vascular Information Technology, Information Technology Department)
Most Innovative Use for Physical Security Beaumont Health System (Carleen Penoza, Director, Informatics)
Most Innovative Use Case Mercy (Joseph P. Drozda, Jr, M.D., F.A.C.C., Director, Outcomes Research)
Best Comprehensive Integration Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center (Conrad Emmerich, Associate Vice President, Resource Management and Enterprise Visibility; Scott Leddy, Chief Medical Informatics Officer; Mark Rheault, Director, Office of Enterprise Visibility)
Grand Award 2014 Children’s Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota